Judgment on Edom – Part 1

Jeremiah 49:7-11 Concerning Edom, thus said the LORD of hosts; Is wisdom no more in Teman? is counsel perished from the prudent? is their wisdom vanished? Flee you, turn back, dwell deep, O inhabitants of Dedan; for I will bring the calamity of Esau upon him, the time that I will visit him. If grape gatherers come to thee, would they not leave some gleaning grapes? if thieves by night, they will destroy till they have enough. But I have made Esau bare, I have uncovered his secret places, and he shall not be able to hide himself: his seed is spoiled, and his brethren, and his neighbours, and he is not. Leave thy fatherless children, I will preserve them alive; and let thy widows trust in me. 

‘Concerning Edom, thus said the LORD of hosts …’ This is the 86th prophecy in Jeremiah (49:7-22). Twenty-two predictions are fulfilled: I will bring calamity upon Esau (49:8). I will make Esau bare (49:10). He will not be able to hide himself. His seed will be spoiled. His brethren and neighbours will be destroyed. I will preserve the orphans (49:11). Edom will surely drink of the cup of punishment (49:12). Bozrah will become a desolation, a reproach, a waste, and a curse (49:13). All cities of Bozrah will become perpetual wastes. The heathen will come against her and rise up in battle (49:14). I will make Edom small among the heathen, and despised among men (49:15). I will bring you down even though you dwell in the heights like an eagle (49:16). Edom will be a desolation (49:17). All who pass by Edom will be astonished and hiss at her plagues. As God overthrew Sodom and Gomorrah and the neighbouring cities, so no man will abide in you (49:18). He (Nebuchadnezzar) will come up like a lion from the swelling of Jordan against the habitation of the strong (49:19). He will make such a swift conquest of Edom he will suddenly go away to other conquests. He will make their habitations desolate (49:20). The earth will be moved at the noise of their fall (49:21). The noise will even be heard in the Red Sea. He will come up as an eagle and spread his wings over Bozrah (49:22). In that day the hearts of the mighty men of Edom will be as the heart of a woman in travail.

To be continued…

Published by iolaHC

I am an Artwork in progress

Leave a comment