Their Nobles Shall be of Themselves

Jeremiah 30:21-24 And their nobles shall be of themselves, and their governor shall proceed from the midst of them; and I will cause him to draw near, and he shall approach unto me: for who is this that engaged his heart to approach unto me? said the LORD. And you shall be my people, and I will be your God. Behold, the whirlwind of the LORD goes forth with fury, a continuing whirlwind: it shall fall with pain upon the head of the wicked. The fierce anger of the LORD shall not return, until he have done it, and until he have performed the intents of his heart: in the latter days you shall consider it.

‘Nobles shall be of themselves, and their governor shall proceed from the midst of them; and I will cause him to draw near, and he shall approach unto me.’ The nobles of the nations, their governor, and other great men will be from among themselves and not from the Gentiles who have lorded it over them for many centuries. The times of the Gentiles will be ended (Luke 21:24; Rom. 11:25-29). The Hebrew here could be translated, Their Prince shall be one of themselves, their Ruler shall be native-born. I will grant him access to My presence, and he shall approach Me; for who else has the boldness of his own initiative to approach Me? Then you shall be My people, and I will be your God (30:21-22). This either refers to David of Jeremiah 30:9, or to the Messiah who will be over David and all resurrected saints in the coming ages.

‘Whirlwind of the LORD goes forth with fury.’ The whirlwind in such passages as this always pictures divine judgment (23:19; 25:32; Ps. 58:9; Pro. 1:27; Isa. 66:15; Zech. 7:14; 9:14). Here the judgment upon the wicked relates to the battle of Armageddon at the second coming of Christ (30:23-24; Isa. 63:1-6; Ezekiel 38-39; Joel 2-3; Zech. 14:1-21; 2Thess. 1:7-10; Jude 1:14-15; Rev. 19:11-21). It was to come in the latter days when they would “consider it” (30:24).

Published by iolaHC

I am an Artwork in progress

Leave a comment