Faithful and True

Revelation 22:6-13 And he said unto me, These sayings are faithful and true: and the Lord God of the holy prophets sent his angel to show unto his servants the things which must shortly be done. Behold, I come quickly: blessed is he that keep the sayings of the prophecy of this book. And I John saw these things, and heard them. And when I had heard and seen, I fell down to worship before the feet of the angel which showed me these things. Then said he unto me, See thou do it not: for I am thy fellowservant, and of thy brethren the prophets, and of them which keep the sayings of this book: worship God. And he said unto me, Seal not the sayings of the prophecy of this book: for the time is at hand. He that is unjust, let him be unjust still: and he which is filthy, let him be filthy still: and he that is righteous, let him be righteous still: and he that is holy, let him be holy still. And, behold, I come quickly; and my reward is with me, to give every man according as his work shall be. I am Alpha and Omega, the beginning and the end, the first and the last. 

‘These sayings are faithful and true’ John was directed to write 16 times as he received the Revelation; it is clearly stated from this Scripture that all that was said is faithful and true (19:9) as is God who is giving this prophecy.

‘I come quickly’ Christ declares His return to earth again many times (1:7; 22:7, 12, 20; Matt. 24:29-31; 25:31-46; Luke 17:1-37).

‘Keep the sayings of the prophecy of this book’ the book ends with such a blessing upon people who hear, read, and keep the truth of this prophecy (1:1-3; 22:7).

‘For I am thy fellowservant, and of thy brethren the prophets, and of them which keep the sayings of this book’ this is proof that the angel of Revelation 1:1; 19:9-10 and 22:6-10 is a redeemed man and from the Old Testament prophets as clearly stated by the individual.

‘Seal not the sayings of the prophecy of this book’ these truths were to be understood and kept by all, hence they are not hidden truths. They are simple and clear to all who will believe them but hidden from those who refuse to believe (2Cor. 4:4).

‘For the time is at hand’ here again emphasis is put on the fact of the immediate fulfilment of these events which were to happen in consecutive order from John’s day into eternity. First, the things of the congregation age up to the rapture (Rev. 1-3). Second, events between the rapture and the second coming (Rev. 4-19). Third, events of the Millennium and the New Earth forever (Rev. 20-22).

‘He that is unjust, let him be unjust still …’ the 13th New Testament prophecy in Revelation unfulfilled, this verse states the fact that as a man dies he will be forever, so there will be no second chance to improve the life and character of any lost one in all eternity (Heb. 9:27).

‘I come quickly’ Christ declares His return to earth again many times (1:7; 22:7, 12, 20; Matt. 24:29-31; 25:31-46; Luke 17:1-37).

‘And my reward is with me’ from 1Corinthians 3:11-15 we see that works are compared to gold, silver, precious stones, wood, hay and stubble – some become purer in the fire and others are completely burned up by fire. Fire will try every man’s works. If his are gold, silver, and precious stones they will abide the fire and he will receive a reward for his works. If they are wood, hay, and stubble his works will be burned up, yet he himself will be saved from loss of his soul.

‘I am Alpha and Omega’ the first and last letters of the Greek alphabet that is used four times in Revelation (1:8, 11; 21:6; 22:13) of Jesus Christ and refers to Him as the beginning and end of the New Testament that was written in Greek.

Published by iolaHC

I am an Artwork in progress

Leave a comment